14 December 2012 ~ 1 Comment

Doing Max Vinyl (Annie Ogden Mystery) by Frederick Lee Brooke

The author sent me this book about 18 months ago for review and it kind of fell off of my radar until recently when I was looking for a good quirky mystery. Something different to shake it up. This book fit the bill completely.

The author does a great job of not only developing the characters (even those you hate) but also developing an interesting story. I will admit that parts of it are a little hokey, but well, that’s the genre. It’s supposed to be a little hokey from time to time.

The real measure is that it made me think – about the environmental issue – and also made me laugh out loud at some of the character stories.

Well done and I look forward to reading the next one by this author.

Recommended for fans of Stephanie Plum and Jack Daniels.

Description:
Earth first. Okay, maybe second. Third? She’ll KILL you!

Max Vinyl’s type of success story can only happen in America. Rising from humble beginnings, he has reached the height of the computer recycling racket. Problem is, he’s using Lake Michigan as his own personal profit center. Even that wouldn’t have been a problem if his environmentalist girlfriend Tris hadn’t found out his dirty secret. And while Max is devastated by his love crashing down around him, he’s about to learn that the rage of a woman scorned packs far more firepower and potential for destruction than he had ever imagined.

Iraq War veteran Annie Ogden has spent three tormented months living in a cabin alone trying to re-discover her purpose in life. When two of Max’s thugs threaten Annie’s sister, she is dragged into his corrupt world in an unwitting alliance with the environmentalist, Tris. Which is really lousy news for Max. Will he hold up under the coordinated attacks of two furious women? As things spin completely out of control and complications mount, it’s all Max can do to stay one step ahead until it’s all he can do to stay alive!

A farce full of hysterics and chicanery, Frederick Lee Brooke’s first installment of the Annie Ogden mysteries is an incisive examination of corporate lunacy, greed and modern disconnection. Having received multiple four and five-star reviews on Amazon, Doing Max Vinyl: An Annie Ogden Mystery is loaded with razor-sharp dialogue, ingenious plotting and so much fun it should be illegal!

Rating: ★★★★☆

Book count for 2012: 38

One Response to “Doing Max Vinyl (Annie Ogden Mystery) by Frederick Lee Brooke”

  1. Frederick Lee Brooke 15 December 2012 at 11:50 am Permalink

    Candy, thanks so much for this really nice review on your blog!
    Frederick Lee Brooke´s last blog post ..Don’t You Want a Pre-Loaded Kindle Fire For Christmas?


Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.